Important questions for photographers.

My Side Of The Lens

So this may seem like rather a strange post. But every now and then I get asked to give advice on a portfolio or on how to make yourself stand out as a photographer. Unfortunately, as much as I’d like to, I honestly don’t know the secret to success.
I’m not even sure if there is a one size fits all answer for that kinda question either. Also although I have been a photographer for a good long while I don’t actually think my critique of a portfolio is worth anything more than anyone else’s opinion.
But in the interests of general discussion, here is what I would say if asked how to make your photography successful.

Starting at the beginning: Ask yourself the following questions.

1. What do I want to achieve?
In other words, what do you define as being successful.
For some a couple of magazine submissions…

View original post 546 mots de plus